It is currently Sun Dec 04, 2022 5:01 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Garmin Dakota20
PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2022 10:14 am 
Offline
MGS Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 12:00 am
Posts: 27
Location: Odenton, MD
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 4 times
I have a Garmin Dakota 20 GPS that's about 6 years old (I guess). I also use a Mac desktop computer with OS Monterey 12.3.1. I always load Geocaches into my GPS one at a time which is no problem for me since I'm a "Light Weight" :D cacher. Here lately it seems to take forever for the Garmins info to load. And after it does load and I put more caches into it, it does not want to eject from the computer connection. (FYI: I religiously remove old caches so there is not an abundance of junk on the GPS).
Also, I can not load caches directly from Groundspeak. I have to use iCaching to load them. I thought years ago I could load directly from Groundspeak. Has this changed or am I dreaming? Should I be able to load caches on to my GPS directly from Groundspeak?
Thanks for any help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Dakota20
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2022 1:26 pm 
Offline
MGS Officer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 8:10 am
Posts: 227
Has thanked: 74 times
Been thanked: 209 times
Not sure what it's like on a Mac, but do you have their software, "Garmin Express" installed?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Dakota20
PostPosted: Sat Apr 30, 2022 1:52 pm 
Offline
MGS Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 12:00 am
Posts: 27
Location: Odenton, MD
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 4 times
PatientRock wrote:
Not sure what it's like on a Mac, but do you have their software, "Garmin Express" installed?

Yes I do.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Dakota20
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2022 1:28 pm 
Offline
MGS Officer
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 8:10 am
Posts: 227
Has thanked: 74 times
Been thanked: 209 times
There may be something going on specifically with your device (double check that everything about the device is up to date when you view the device in the Garmin Express software, I guess).

I'm not sure about loading individual geocaches. As someone who mostly uses "Lists" on the geocaching website, you can definitely load lists via Garman Express pretty easily. I have a list I called "Active Hunt" I use for whatever handful of geocaches I'm going after today. I just delete everything in it when I'm done and ready to plan the next mini-trip.

You can load lists via the list page by clicking the three dots in the list row and then selecting "Send to Garmin", or if you're in the page for that specific list, there's an icon for that action. After you do either, the browser will ask for permission to load Garmin Express.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Dakota20
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2022 1:44 pm 
Offline
MGS Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 12:00 am
Posts: 27
Location: Odenton, MD
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Thanks PatientRock. I'm going to play around with it today and see what I can do. I can't remember the last time I did an update on my Dakota if I ever did one at all. I'll try that first.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Dakota20
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2022 1:55 pm 
Offline
Former MGS Officer

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 8:47 pm
Posts: 446
Has thanked: 557 times
Been thanked: 326 times
I have never used a Dakota. When it is plugged into your computer can you see it in your computer’s file structure? That is how the Garmin GPSMap units work. If so, you can run a pocket query and load that GPX in the Garmin/GPX folder and you should be able to see the caches on your Dakota after you unplug it and restart it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Dakota20
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2022 3:28 pm 
Offline
MGS Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 12:00 am
Posts: 27
Location: Odenton, MD
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 4 times
littleblkdog wrote:
I have never used a Dakota. When it is plugged into your computer can you see it in your computer’s file structure? That is how the Garmin GPSMap units work. If so, you can run a pocket query and load that GPX in the Garmin/GPX folder and you should be able to see the caches on your Dakota after you unplug it and restart it.

Yes I can see it listed. There’s also a sub folder listed that’s called “ No Name”. Nothing in it.
I can not load files (geocaches) directly from the Geocaching app in to my GPS. I first have to assign the particular cache(s) to a list. Then I have to go to the iCaching app. and load them from there on to my GPS.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Dakota20
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2022 3:43 pm 
Offline
Former MGS Officer

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 8:47 pm
Posts: 446
Has thanked: 557 times
Been thanked: 326 times
If you can see that folder on your Garmin then you can run a pocket query to load your gps. Once the query is done you can then download it from the Geocaching site. There will be two files, one will be just the name of the pocket query and the name of the pocket query plus the word waypoints. You can download those files in a zip file from the Geocaching site, unzip them, and then save them into that folder, the Garman/GPS folder, on your Dakota. Once it’s saved then you can eject your Dakota from your computer and then reboot it. Once it boots again you should be able to see those geocaches. Your can also run a list as a pocket query.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Dakota20
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2022 4:34 pm 
Offline
MGS Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 12:00 am
Posts: 27
Location: Odenton, MD
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 4 times
[quote="littleblkdog"]If you can see that folder on your Garmin then you can run a pocket query to load your gps. Once the query is done you can then download it from the Geocaching site. There will be two files, one will be just the name of the pocket query and the name of the pocket query plus the word waypoints. You can download those files in a zip file from the Geocaching site, unzip them, and then save them into that folder, the Garman/GPS folder, on your Dakota. Once it’s saved then you can eject your Dakota from your computer and then reboot it. Once it boots again you should be able to see those geocaches. Your can also run a list as a pocket query.


OK. I just created a PQ for some caches around my daughter's house. As a test, I only checked off four to download. I had to check a box to prove I wasn't a robot and then I clicked the box that said download waypoints. But from here I'm lost. I don't know to where they downloaded. I can't find them.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Dakota20
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2022 5:17 pm 
Offline
Former MGS Officer

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 8:47 pm
Posts: 446
Has thanked: 557 times
Been thanked: 326 times
That should skip some of the steps I mentioned and directly load a .GPX file with the GC code as the name for each of the caches you selected in the Garmin/GPX directory.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Dakota20
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2022 8:28 pm 
Offline
MGS Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 12:00 am
Posts: 27
Location: Odenton, MD
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 4 times
[quote="littleblkdog"]That should skip some of the steps I mentioned and directly load a .GPX file with the GC code as the name for each of the caches you selected in the Garmin/GPX directory.

I managed to make it work !! right through the Geocaching app. But I like using the iCaching app better. Maybe because I'm used to it. Anyway. Thanks for all your input and help littleblkdog. I appreciate it. Now all I have to figure out is why my Garmin Dakota doesn't want to disconnect from my computer :thinking:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Garmin Dakota20
PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2022 8:57 pm 
Offline
Former MGS Officer

Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 8:47 pm
Posts: 446
Has thanked: 557 times
Been thanked: 326 times
Glad it worked out for you!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group